Henry Wolf, Design Hero

Henry Wolf was a legendary graphic designer, photographer and painter who became one of the most influential magazine art directors of the last century. Supremely talented, witty and refined, he epitomized style and class on every level, an unyielding stalwart of a time when quality and details mattered.

Among his many endeavors, Henry taught at Parsons School of Design for several years, and I was lucky to be one of his students in the 1990s. I even got to visit his Upper East Side studio a handful of times, where I could see glimpses of works in progress. Though he unfortunately fell ill during our class and had to miss a few sessions, what I learned from him during the time he did teach singlehandedly justified the exorbitant tuition I paid. Then and now, I admire the integrity and finesse he brought to both his art and his life, and I’m grateful for the mentorship I received, however brief.

It’s hard to believe this past month marked 10 years since his passing on Valentine’s Day of 2005. I attended his memorial service then and still remember how fondly his former colleagues and peers spoke of him and and his work.

I recently found a copy of a handwritten recommendation Henry graciously gave me in 1998 when I was applying to a master’s program at Syracuse University. Of course, I’ve scanned it for posterity. I can’t help but smile through feelings of pride and nostalgia every time I read it.

henry-wolf-rec-letter_850.jpg

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

On Prototyping

The concept of developing an early, unrefined representation of an idea for feedback and iteration is not a new experience for many traditional designers. Those of us “classically trained” were taught in design school to put pencil to... Continue →